top of page

The Year 2019, Thus Far


No one signed up for spring break camp. *crickets*

I filled a few cake and bread orders. Slow but steady. I made plans to spend an entire month celebrating my 50th birthday. We also began planning our summer vacation so I could schedule summer camp. It was going to be a 4 week, cross-country motorcycle trip. I had it all mapped out, including visits with friends and family. Two days before Easter, my husband was out for a motorcycle ride breaking in his new leather jacket. Instead he got broken. A rogue deer took him down and he walked away with a broken collarbone. Surgery and recovery threatened to completely derail all of our plans. Many things had to be put off or cancelled and I couldn't decide whether or not to schedule any camps.

We finally got the all clear to hit the road - 2 weeks down the California coast and returning inland. Then the ground in California began shaking. I had a bad feeling about this trip but we packed up and headed out.

Twice.

My motorcycle had mechanical difficulties so, after two false starts and a cake delivery, we loaded up the truck and just went camping for a week. When we got home I prepared for another camping trip. After that trip, I began planning for another camping trip.

You'd think I wouldn't have time to get any baking done, but you would be wrong. In the last week of August, before my final camping trip, I filled 5 orders.

FIVE in 1 week!!

That's a record for me and quite a pace for a one-woman operation. Still, I can't stay put for long. A friend was in a motorcycle accident at the end of summer. Another deer strike. It's like the deer community has a contract out on anyone on two wheels. I decided to do my part by preparing and delivering meals, including dessert.

In September I spent a week in Pennsylvania with my best friend. I taught her how to make her own bread from scratch.

In October Matt and I went to Texas to visit his brother's family and participate in the Down Syndrome Association Buddy Walk. We got home on Monday , October 21st. I got dinner started and went to Jazzercise. On the way home as I sat at a red light I was rear ended by a drunk driver. While in the emergency room I received a text for a cake order. Timing is everything.

We put on our annual Halloween gathering for the neighbors. This year we went with a Christmas theme complete with a tree, stockings filled with candy, and decorated Christmas cookies. I was glad to have the help of my own elves as I am recovering from the crash.

Now I am dealing with lots of aches and pains while continuing with meal deliveries, preparing for bazaar season and now I get to shop for a new car. I plan to do more online advertising to increase holiday sales. I may even teach a cookie decorating class. One thing I've been skipping this year is taking photos of my products. It may be time to consider hiring an in house photographer. It's a shame to not have all of my creations recorded for posterity. So that is how 2019 has been going so far. I hope the rest of the year is less eventful but as sweet as can be.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page