top of page

Can't Keep Me Down!

The first quarter of the year, business was halted by migraines. As we slowly got a handle on those, I was slowed down by arthritis pain and carpal tunnel syndrome in both hands. A surgery consult was scheduled. In the midst of all this, life went on. Matt and I traveled to celebrate our birthdays. We took an EV road trip. The family had Covid. My sister and I drove to So Cal when our sister-in-law passed suddenly. We celebrated our kids' birthdays. The drunk driver case from 3 years ago was settled. My brother was invited to move in with us when he transferred his job to Oregon. Matt and I took a motorcycle trip for our anniversary. That one was fraught with mechanical issues and ended with the news that the aforementioned sister had been in a train wreck. We returned home and I immediately packed and left to be by her side at the hospital in Missouri. When she was moved to a rehab in Michigan, I went with her. A few days later, I flew home to deal with my own ailing body. Two carpal tunnel surgeries and cortisone injections in my knees followed by physical therapy and I am physically on the mend. Aside from being swarmed and stung by wasps, things have been going great. I am even losing weight which, I think, is having the greatest effect on my knees. Once my right hand is finished healing, I will be ready and raring to get back to cooking! Another house guest we've had for the past couple of months has been my brother's dog Dandy. Since my business was on hold anyway due to my physical limitations, there was no conflict of interest having him here. Now that Dandy will be going to a new home, I am having the house professionally cleaned so I will once again qualify for my state license inspection. I plan to officially re-open with the holiday bazaar season in November but will start by making and selling apple butter and seasonal breads and muffins through the month of October. This year started off on a sour note for me but I refuse to give up without a fight. You can't keep a good cook down!






Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page